American College of Trial Lawyers Inducts Kathryn Ruemmler and Honors Judge Jonathan Lippman

October 10, 2019
Premier legal association welcomes Ruemmler to its fellowship and recognizes Judge Lippman with the Beverly McLachlin Access to Justice Award.

Latham & Watkins LLP is pleased to announce that Global Chair of the firm's White Collar Defense & Investigations Practice and former White House Counsel Kathryn Ruemmler, has become a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers (College) and of counsel Judge Jonathan Lippman has received the inaugural Beverly McLachlin Access to Justice Award. The College is composed of preeminent members of the Trial Bar from the US and Canada and is recognized as the leading trial lawyers organization in both countries. 

Ruemmler’s induction into the College Fellowship further solidifies her reputation as one of the nation’s most formidable trial lawyers who has tried 25 jury cases to verdict both in government and in private practice. Fellowship is extended by invitation only and only after careful investigation, to those experienced trial lawyers of diverse backgrounds who have mastered the art of advocacy and whose professional careers have been marked by the highest standards of ethical conduct, professionalism, civility and collegiality. Membership in the College cannot exceed 1% of the total lawyer population of any state or province and lawyers must have a minimum of fifteen years trial experience before they can be considered.

In addition to the induction of Ruemmler, the College recognized Judge Jonathan Lippman, of counsel in our New York office, with its inaugural Beverley McLachlin Access to Justice Award. The award honors a judge or member of the bar who “has played an exceptional role in creating and promoting access to justice.” The College recognized Judge Lippman’s career-long commitment to public service, increasing access to justice, and dedication to the law. 

Latham is home to several additional American College of Trial Lawyers Fellows, including Steven Bauer, Sean Berkowitz, Tom Heiden, Thomas Nolan, and Ron Shulman.