„Mit unschlagbarer Expertise ist Praxisleiter Ulrich Wuermeling ein ‘renommierter Name im Daten-
schutzrecht’ und ‘nicht nur ein sehr guter Jurist, sondern auch ein sehr guter Berater’.“The Legal 500 Deutschland 2014

Dr. Ulrich Wuermeling

Frankfurt | London
  • Die Welle
  • Reuterweg 20
  • 60323 Frankfurt am Main
  • Deutschland
 
 

Dr. Ulrich Wuermeling ist Counsel im Londoner und Frankfurter Büro. Mit seinem Schwerpunkt Datenschutzrecht berät er überwiegend Unternehmen der Finanz-, Technologie-, Marketing- und Medienindustrie. Er berät Mandanten zu den Anforderungen des Datenschutzrechts und in Transaktionen. Außerdem vertritt er Mandanten in Datenschutzstreitigkeiten mit Aufsichtsbehörden und in Gerichtsverfahren. Dr. Wuermeling wird regelmäßig für Datenschutz in deutschen und internationalen Rankings empfohlen (JUVE 2016/2017, Chambers Europe Germany 2016, Handelsblatt Best Lawyers 2016, The Legal 500 Deutschland 2017, Who's Who Legal: TMT 2017). Chambers Europe Germany 2016 führt Dr. Wuermeling auf Rang 1 für Datenschutz. Ein Mandant bekundet: „He is very knowledgeable and focuses on future developments, anticipating issues. It is a pleasure to work with him.“ (Chambers Europe Germany 2016).

Dr. Wuermeling lehrt Datenschutzrecht als Gastprofessor an der Queen Mary University of London. Er leitet die jährliche European Data Protection Conference in Berlin, hält regelmäßig Vorträge und veröffentlicht Publikationen zu aktuellen Themen des Datenschutzrechts. Dr. Wuermeling ist einer der Editoren des Global Privacy & Security Compliance Law Blogs von Latham & Watkins, welcher sich mit rechtlichen Entwicklungen und Streitigkeiten im Datenschutz befasst, u.a.mit grenzübergreifendem Datentransfer, Datenarchivierung sowie der Verletzung von Sicherheitsbestimmungen.

 
 
 
Hinweis: Wir freuen uns über Ihr Interesse an Latham& Watkins. Falls sich dieses auf eine Rechtssache bezieht und Sie nicht bereits ein gegenwärtiger Mandant der Kanzlei sind, bitten wir darum, uns noch keine vertraulichen Informationen zu übermitteln. Bevor wir ein Mandat annehmen können, müssen wir prüfen, ob die Mandatsübernahme zulässig ist, und die dafür geltenden Bedingungen vereinbaren. Bevor dies nicht geschehen ist, wird keine Mandatsbeziehung begründet und es besteht daher auch keine Vertraulichkeitsverpflichtung hinsichtlich der von Ihnen möglicherweise übermittelten Informationen. Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis.

“'a renowned name in data protection’ and ‘not only a good lawyer but also a good adviser’, […] has a decade’s experience in data protection litigation.”The Legal 500 EMEA 2014

Ulrich Wuermeling

Frankfurt | London
  • Die Welle
  • Reuterweg 20
  • 60323 Frankfurt am Main
  • Germany
 
 

Dr. Ulrich Wuermeling is a counsel in the London and Frankfurt offices. His main area of expertise is European privacy law and his clients predominantly operate in the finance, technology, marketing and media sectors. He is advising clients on data protection compliance requirements and transactional matters as well as representing them in data protection disputes with regulatory authorities and in court proceedings. International and German legal directories consistently recognize Mr. Wuermeling for his Data Protection expertise. The data protection practice is listed in the Rank 1 by The Legal 500 Germany 2017. Mr. Wuermeling is also recognized as leading lawyer in Rank 1 for Data Protection in Chambers Europe Germany 2016, quoting one client: “He is very knowledgeable and focuses on future developments, anticipating issues. It is a pleasure to work with him”.

Mr. Wuermeling teaches privacy law as a Visiting Professor at Queen Mary University London. He chairs Euroforum’s annual German and European Data Protection Conference in Berlin and regularly speaks and publishes on data protection matters. He also acts as co-editor of the Latham & Watkins’ Global Privacy & Security Compliance Law Blog, which discusses a wide range of legal developments and controversies involving data protection, privacy issues and practices, trans-border data transfers, data and system security terms as well as breaches across numerous industry sectors.

 
 
 
Notice: We appreciate your interest in Latham & Watkins. If your inquiry relates to a legal matter and you are not already a current client of the firm, please do not transmit any confidential information to us. Before taking on a representation, we must determine whether we are in a position to assist you and agree on the terms and conditions of engagement with you. Until we have completed such steps, we will not be deemed to have a lawyer-client relationship with you, and will have no duty to keep confidential the information we receive from you. Thank you for your understanding.