“He is extremely knowledgeable and a safe pair of hands.”Chambers Europe Germany 2018

Prof. Dr. Marcus C. Funke

Frankfurt
  • Die Welle
  • Reuterweg 20
  • 60323 Frankfurt am Main
  • Deutschland
 
 

Prof. Dr. Marcus Funke ist Partner im Corporate Department im Frankfurter Büro von Latham & Watkins. Seine Praxisgebiete umfassen insbesondere das Kapitalmarktrecht und das Gesellschaftsrecht. Er verfügt über langjährige Erfahrung in der Beratung von Emittenten und Banken bei Kapitalmarkttransaktionen, insbesondere:

  • Börsengängen
  • Kapitalerhöhungen börsennotierter Gesellschaften
  • Anleiheemissionen
  • Fragen des Gesellschaftsrechts

Als Mitglied der Financial Institutions Group berät Marcus Funke regelmäßig Banken in ihrer Eigenschaft als Emittenten. Er wird als einer der renommiertesten Rechtsberater für Kapitalmarktrecht in Deutschland geführt (Handelsblatt Best Lawyers 2019). IFLR1000 2019 zeichnet ihn aus als “Highly regarded for Capital Markets.” Chambers Europe Germany schreibt über ihn: “Very commercial and entrepreneurial”, “very analytical and thoughtful in terms of weighing up options” (2017), “He has a brilliant brain and a sharp mind” (Chambers Global 2015) und nach Legal 500 Deutschland 2017, gilt er als „ausgezeichneter Experte mit extrem hohem Einsatz für den Mandanten.“

  • Goldman Sachs, J.P. Morgan und Leerink Partners – Beratung im Zusammenhang mit dem Dual Listing der MorphoSys AG an der Nasdaq.
  • Galenica Santé – Beratung beim Börsengang an der SIX Swiss Exchange (CHF 1,9 Mrd.), einem der beiden größten Börsengänge der Schweiz in 2017.
  • trivago N.V. – Beratung der globalen Hotelsuchmaschine beim Börsengang an der Nasdaq.
  • Sunrise Communications Group AG – Beratung beim Börsengang an der SIX Swiss Exchange, größter IPO in der Schweiz seit 2006 und größter IPO eines Telekommunikationsunternehmens in EMEA seit 2004 (CHF 2,3 Mrd.).
  • Barclays, Citigroup, Credit Suisse und J.P. Morgan – Beratung bei der ersten Begebung von Anleihen der BMW Group (US$ 4 Mrd.) sowie vier Folgeanleihen.
  • Deutsche Bank AG – Zulassung von neuen Aktien der TUI AG   (€ 3,3 Mrd.) an der Frankfurter Wertpapierbörse sowie gleichzeitige Zulassung des gesamten Grundkapitals an der London Stock Exchange).
 
  • Zulassung
    • New York
    • Rechtsanwalt (Deutschland)
    Ausbildung
    • Honorarprofessor, EBS Universität für Wirtschaft und Recht in Wiesbaden and Oestrich, 2018
    • Dr. iur., Ruprecht-Karls Universität Heidelberg, 2010
    • LL.M., University of Chicago Law School, 1999
    • Zweites juristisches Staatsexamen, Kammergericht Berlin, 1998
    • Erstes juristisches Staatsexamen, Ruprecht-Karls Universität Heidelberg, 1996
    Sprachen
    • Deutsch
    • Englisch
  • Praxisgruppen
  • Industriegruppen
 
 
Hinweis: Wir freuen uns über Ihr Interesse an Latham& Watkins. Falls sich dieses auf eine Rechtssache bezieht und Sie nicht bereits ein gegenwärtiger Mandant der Kanzlei sind, bitten wir darum, uns noch keine vertraulichen Informationen zu übermitteln. Bevor wir ein Mandat annehmen können, müssen wir prüfen, ob die Mandatsübernahme zulässig ist, und die dafür geltenden Bedingungen vereinbaren. Bevor dies nicht geschehen ist, wird keine Mandatsbeziehung begründet und es besteht daher auch keine Vertraulichkeitsverpflichtung hinsichtlich der von Ihnen möglicherweise übermittelten Informationen. Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis.

“He is extremely knowledgeable and a safe pair of hands.”Chambers Europe Germany 2018

Marcus C. Funke

Frankfurt
  • Die Welle
  • Reuterweg 20
  • 60323 Frankfurt am Main
  • Germany
 
 

Prof. Dr. Marcus C. Funke is a partner in the Frankfurt office. He practices in Latham & Watkins' Corporate Department, advising major domestic and international clients in all aspects of securities and corporate law, particularly:

  • Initial public offerings
  • Rights offerings
  • Bonds
  • Corporate matters

As a member of the firm’s Financial Institutions Industry Group, Mr. Funke regularly advises financial industry participants as principals in securities transactions. He is listed among the best lawyers (Handelsblatt Best Lawyers 2019) and is highly regarded (IFLR1000 2019) for capital markets in Germany. Chambers Europe Germany commends him as “very commercial and entrepreneurial” and “very analytical and thoughtful in terms of weighing up options,” (2017) including that  “he has a brilliant brain and a sharp mind” (Chambers Global 2015). Legal 500 Germany 2017 praises him as an “excellent expert with an extremely high dedication to clients.”

Mr. Funke's recent representative matters includes advising: 

  • Goldman Sachs, J.P. Morgan, and Leerink Partners in connection with the dual listing of MorphoSys AG on Nasdaq
  • Galenica Santé on its CHF1.9 billion IPO on SIX Swiss Exchange, one of the two largest IPOs in Switzerland in 2017        
  • trivago N.V., the global hotel search platform, on its IPO on Nasdaq
  • Sunrise Communications Group AG on the IPO on SIX Swiss Exchange, the largest IPO in Switzerland since 2006 and the largest telecommunications IPO in EMEA since 2004 (CHF2.3 billion)   
  • Barclays, Citigroup, Credit Suisse, and J.P. Morgan, as joint book-runners, in BMW Group’s US$4 billion notes offering, marking its debut issuance of debt in the US capital markets, as well as four follow-on offerings
  • Deutsche Bank and other bookrunners in connection with the €3.3 billion merger of TUI AG with its subsidiary TUI Travel plc. and concurrent admission to trading of new shares on the London Stock Exchange
 
 
 
Notice: We appreciate your interest in Latham & Watkins. If your inquiry relates to a legal matter and you are not already a current client of the firm, please do not transmit any confidential information to us. Before taking on a representation, we must determine whether we are in a position to assist you and agree on the terms and conditions of engagement with you. Until we have completed such steps, we will not be deemed to have a lawyer-client relationship with you, and will have no duty to keep confidential the information we receive from you. Thank you for your understanding.