John Adam is “a true class act” who stands out as “one of the brightest and most hard-working lawyers in the field”. One source notes, “He is among the sharpest and most technically proficient lawyers I have ever had the opportunity to work with.”Who’s Who Legal – Arbitration 2019: Future Leaders

John Adam

Paris | Madrid
  • 45, rue Saint-Dominique
  • Paris 75007
  • France
 
 

John Adam est associé aux bureaux de Paris et de Madrid de Latham & Watkins au sein de l’équipe Arbitrage International. M. Adam a une vaste expérience en qualité de conseil de multinationales, d’États et d’entités publiques au cours d’arbitrages commerciaux et d’investissement complexes, aux enjeux élevés, régis par les principaux règlements institutionnels tel que le CIRDI, CNUDCI, CCI, LCIA, SCC et du DIAC. Il intervient fréquemment au cours de litiges fondés sur une variété de traités d’investissements bilatéraux et multilatéraux et concernant des secteurs d’activités variés, notamment l’énergie, le pétrole et le gaz, la construction et les technologies.

Legal 500 décrit M. Adam comme un avocat « remarquable…avec de vastes connaissances en matière d’arbitrage ». Selon Chambers Latin America 2019, M. Adam «représente et conseille activement sur des dossiers majeurs d’arbitrage commercial ou d’investissement dans l’ensemble de la région. Une personne inteviewés particulièrement satisfaite témoigne : J’apprécie réellement John, c’est un très bon avocat, tandis qu’une autre le présente comme extrêmement dévoué et accessible.»

M. Adam maîtrise l’anglais et l’espagnol, ses langues maternelles. De plus, M. Adam parle couramment le français et le portugais.

Classements

John Adam has a solid practice advising on investment arbitration, particularly related to the construction sector, as well as the conventional and renewable energy industries. Sources describe him as "brilliant," and "a very complete lawyer."
Chambers Latin America 2018

 

John Adam a notamment représenté :

Arbitrage d’investissement
  • Novenergia au cours d’un arbitrage contre le Royaume d’Espagne en vertu du Traité de la Charte de l’Energie, siégeant à Stockholm et concernant des changements profonds des régulations touchant le secteur des énergies renouvelables introduits par l’Espagne. Novenergia a obtenu une compensation de €53.3 millions (la presque totalité des dommages requis) et le paiement par le Royaume d’Espagne des coûts entrepris par Novenergia pour l’arbitrage.
  • La Colombie au cours de trois arbitrages CIRDI initiés par Eco Oro Minerals Corp., Red Eagle Exploration Ltd. et Galway Gold Inc., respectivement, sur la base du Chapitre 8 de l’ALE entre le Canada et la Colombie. Ces trois arbitrages concernent des changements réglementaires dans le secteur minier visant la protection d’écosystèmes de haute altitude (páramo) uniques au monde.
  • La Colombie au cours d’un arbitrage CIRDI initié par Gran Colombia Gold Corp., sur la base de l’ALE entre le Canada et la Colombie et concernant des intérêts miniers en Colombie.
  • Un État latino-américain au cours d’un arbitrage CNUDCI initié par un investisseur, au sujet de l’élimination présumée d’avantages fiscaux pour l’industrie du pétrole et du gaz mid-stream et la violation présumée du standard de Traitement Juste et Équitable et d’une clause de stabilité contenue dans un contrat d’investissement pour la construction et l’opération d’un oléoduc.
Arbitrage commercial
  • Une entreprise publique en tant que défenderesse au cours d’un arbitrage CCI, ayant Londres pour siège, initié par la filiale d’une entreprise publique asiatique de pétrole et de gaz. Le litige concerne une joint-venture ayant pour but la modernisation et l’expansion d’une raffinerie de pétrole en Amérique Latine.
  • Un consortium de six fournisseurs électromécaniques au cours d’un arbitrage CCI à Sao Paulo, soumis au droit Brésilien et pour lequel la procédure se déroule en Portugais, au cours d’un arbitrage de construction substantiel contre le propriétaire d’un projet hydroélectrique important et l’entrepreneur principal.
  • Une compagnie pétrolière nationale en tant que défenderesse au cours de deux arbitrages LCIA siégeant à Londres, intentés par une société pétrolière sud-américaine. Ces arbitrages portent sur des demandes complexes, initiées sur la base d’un Joint Operating Agreement, concernant un incident sur un FPSO et une opération avortée de reconditionnement d’un puits offshore.
  • Les filiales d’une entreprise européenne importante d’ingénierie et de management de construction en tant que demandeur au cours d’un arbitrage CCI siégeant à Paris, contre une entreprise européenne de gaz et de pétrole. Le litige concernait un contrat EPCm pour la construction d’une raffinerie de pétrole en Europe. La décision rendue par le Tribunal a attribué à notre client d’importants dommages et a ordonné au défendeur de rembourser la totalité des coûts entrepris par notre client au cours de cet arbitrage.
  • Deux entreprises Espagnoles d’ingénierie et de construction au cours d’un arbitrage CCI siégeant à New York et régit par le droit de New York, les opposant à une entreprise énergétique Costaricienne et à une série d’entreprises liées au projet. Le litige concerne plusieurs contrats EPC clé en main, pour la construction de centrales éoliennes au Costa Rica.
Expérience notable en tant qu’arbitre:
  • Arbitre unique au cours d’un litige concernant la résiliation d’un contrat de services d’hospitalité. Le droit applicable est le droit espagnol. La langue de l’arbitrage est l’espagnol.

 

 
 
 

Avertissement : Nous vous remercions de l’intérêt que vous portez à Latham & Watkins. Si vous souhaitez nous confier un dossier mais que vous n'êtes pas encore client du cabinet, merci de ne nous transmettre aucune information confidentielle. Nous ne pouvons pas accepter un dossier avant de nous être assurés que nous sommes en mesure de vous assister et d’avoir trouvé un accord avec vous sur les termes et conditions de notre intervention. Dans la mesure où nous n’aurons pas de relation avocat-client avec vous auparavant, nous n’aurons aucune obligation de confidentialité à l’égard des informations que vous nous auriez transmises. Merci de votre compréhension.

John Adam is “a true class act” who stands out as “one of the brightest and most hard-working lawyers in the field”. One source notes, “He is among the sharpest and most technically proficient lawyers I have ever had the opportunity to work with.”

Who’s Who Legal – Arbitration 2019: Future Leaders

John Adam

Paris | Madrid
  • 45, rue Saint-Dominique
  • Paris 75007
  • France
 
 

John Adam is a partner in the Paris and Madrid offices of Latham & Watkins. He is a member of Latham's International Arbitration Practice. Mr. Adam has extensive experience representing companies, states, and state-owned entities in high-stakes, complex international commercial and investor-state arbitrations under the aegis of the principal arbitration rules, including ICSID, UNCITRAL, ICC, LCIA, SCC, and DIAC. He regularly handles disputes under a range of bilateral and multilateral investment treaties and focuses on energy, oil and gas, and construction and technology disputes.

The Legal 500 describes Mr. Adam as a “remarkable” professional “with vast arbitration knowledge.” According to Chambers Latin America 2019, Mr. Adam is “active advising on notable investor-state and commercial arbitration matters throughout the region. One pleased interviewee states: ‘I really like John, he's a great lawyer,’ with another describing him as ‘very dedicated and accessible.’”

Besides speaking English and Spanish as mother tongues, Mr. Adam is fluent in French and Portuguese.

Recognition Highlights

John Adam has a solid practice advising on investment arbitration, particularly related to the construction sector, as well as the conventional and renewable energy industries. Sources describe him as "brilliant," and "a very complete lawyer."
Chambers Latin America 2018

 

Mr. Adam’s significant recent experience includes representing: 

Investment arbitration
  • Novenergia in an arbitration against the Kingdom of Spain under the Energy Charter Treaty (ECT), seated in Stockholm, concerning changes to Spain’s sweeping changes to its regulation of the renewables sector. In addition to awarding Novenergia compensation of €53.3 million (close to the total damages claimed), the arbitral tribunal also ordered the Kingdom of Spain to pay Novenergia’s arbitration costs.
  • The Republic of Colombia in three ICSID arbitrations brought respectively by Eco Oro Minerals Corp, Red Eagle Exploration Ltd. and Galway Gold Inc., under Chapter 8 of the Canada-Colombia FTA. The disputes relate to the adoption of certain regulatory measures in the mining sector for the protection of unique, high altitude páramo (moorland) ecosystems.
  • The Republic of Colombia in an ICSID arbitration commenced by Gran Colombia Gold Corp. under the Canada-Colombia FTA regarding a Colombian mining concern.
  • A Latin American State in an UNCITRAL arbitration brought by an investor concerning the alleged elimination of tax benefits in the oil and gas mid-stream industry and the alleged violation of the FET standard and Stability clauses in an investment contract for the construction and operation of an oil pipeline.
Commercial arbitration
  • A state-owned company, as the respondent in an ICC arbitration seated in London brought by a subsidiary of an Asian state-owned oil and gas company. The dispute concerns a joint venture to modernize and expand a refinery in Latin America.
  • A consortium of six electromechanical suppliers in ICC proceedings in Sao Paulo, under Brazilian law and arbitrated in Portuguese, in a substantial construction arbitration against the owner of a major hydroelectric project and the main contractor.
  • A NOC as the respondent in two LCIA arbitrations seated in London, brought by a South American oil and gas company. The disputes involve complex claims under a Joint Operating Agreement regarding an incident in an FPSO and an aborted offshore well workover operation.
  • The affiliates of a major European engineering services and construction management company as claimants in an ICC arbitration seated in Paris against a European oil and gas company. The dispute concerned an EPCM contract regarding the construction of a refinery in Europe. The tribunal rendered an award granting our client extensive damages and ordering the respondent to defray the entirety of our client’s costs in the arbitration.
  • Two Spanish engineering and construction companies in an ICC arbitration seated in New York and governed by New York law, against a Costa Rican energy corporation and a series of related project companies. The dispute concerns several turnkey EPC contracts for the construction of wind-powered electrical generation facilities in Costa Rica.
Arbitrator appointments
  • Sole arbitrator in dispute relating the termination of a hospitality services contract. Seat of arbitration: Madrid. Applicable law: Spanish.  Language of the arbitration: Spanish

 
 
 
Notice: We appreciate your interest in Latham & Watkins. If your inquiry relates to a legal matter and you are not already a current client of the firm, please do not transmit any confidential information to us. Before taking on a representation, we must determine whether we are in a position to assist you and agree on the terms and conditions of engagement with you. Until we have completed such steps, we will not be deemed to have a lawyer-client relationship with you, and will have no duty to keep confidential the information we receive from you. Thank you for your understanding.